So I bought Monopoly this summer and started playing with my kids.  When was the last time you played?  In case you forgot, here’s a quick refresher: it takes a loooooooooooooooong time to finish.  I mean, like it *really* does.

Anyway, I got to thinking about how I could use some of the Monopoly cards to teach students the algebraic concepts of Domain and Range.

For most properties, you just have to pay “rent” when you land there if someone else owns it.  But recall that there are some special spaces where you can’t make “improvements” (houses and hotels), but where you still owe a chunk of money to the owner when you land there: 4 Railroads and 2 Utilities.

So here are some questions we can use with our students.  Can you think of others?  Please share in the comments.

1. When someone lands on a Railroad, how much money could they owe?

2. When someone lands on Water Works, how much money could they owe?

The reason I’m excited to try this activity with my students is that I think I can get them to produce a list of numbers *without* mentioning the terms “domain” and “range.”  At the *end* of the activity, we can attach the appropriate terminology.

Plus, I might even bring in my actual board so we can do a few trials together.  Rolled a 6?  You owe $24.  Oh, the dude owns both utilities?  You owe $60.  This could be fun and engaging for students.

Upgrade for Stats teachers: what is the *expected value* for the amount owed when someone has to pay the owner of the Electric Company?

